February 1, 2023

NASA SpaceX Crew-3 Dragon Undocks From the International Space Station

By NASA
Might 5, 2022

The SpaceX Dragon Endurance spacecraft is seen just after undocking from the forward port of the International Space Stations Harmony module at 1:20 a.m. Credit: NASA TELEVISION
The SpaceX Dragon Endurance spacecraft with NASA astronauts Kayla Barron, Raja Chari, and Tom Marshburn, as well as ESA (European Space Agency) astronaut Matthias Maurer inside, undocked from the forward port of the International Space Stations Harmony module at 1:20 a.m. EDT (10:20 p.m. PDT on May 4) to complete a nearly six-month science objective.
Two hours previously, at 11:20 p.m. EDT (8:20 p.m. PDT) Wednesday, May 4, the hatch closed in between the Dragon Endurance spacecraft and the International Space Station in preparation for undocking and return to Earth.
The Dragon Endurance spacecraft is shown after the hatch closed between it and the International Space Station in preparation for undocking and return to Earth of NASAs SpaceX Crew-3 mission. Credit: NASA TELEVISION
The return timeline with approximate times (all times Eastern):.

Thursday, May 5.
11:48 p.m. Trunk jettison.
11:53 p.m. Deorbit burn.
Friday, May 6.
12:04 p.m. Nosecone closed.
12:43 a.m. Dragon splashdown.
NASA will continue to provide live protection up until Endurance splashes down off the coast of Florida and the Crew-3 astronauts are recuperated off the coast of Florida.
NASAs SpaceX Crew-3 mission released on November 10, 2021, on a Falcon 9 rocket from the firms Kennedy Space Center in Florida and docked to the space station on November 11.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *