June 10, 2023

Solar eclipse guide 2022: When, where & how to see them

Partial solar eclipse Oct. 25The second partial solar eclipse of the year is viewable from Europe, western Asia and northeast Africa. (Image credit: NASA) The 2nd partial solar eclipse of the year is viewable from Europe, western Asia and northeast Africa. From near sunrise in Iceland to near sunset in western India, the partial solar eclipse will be extensively seen. Those wishing to see the moon take the biggest “bite” out of the suns disk will need to venture some 1,500 miles (2,400 kilometers) to the east-northeast of Moscow in the West Siberian Plain where 82% of the suns location will be covered, according to Sky and Telescope. There are still plenty of good partial solar eclipse viewing opportunities across Europe, the Middle East, western Asia and northeast Africa. Below is a timetable for the partial solar eclipse on Oct. 25 (all times local). The very first place to see the partial solar eclipse begin is at 3.58 a.m. EST (08:58 UTC), the best point of total solar eclipse happens at 6 a.m. EST (11:00 UTC) and the last location to see the partial eclipse end is at 8:02 a.m. EST (13:02 UTC) according to Time and Date. Below is a chart with some eclipse seeing times (all regional times), including information from Time and Date.

Partial solar eclipse Oct. 25The 2nd partial solar eclipse of the year is viewable from Europe, western Asia and northeast Africa. Check out more about lunar and solar eclipses on Eclipse Wise– a site dedicated to forecasts of eclipses.

Timetable for the partial solar eclipse on Oct. 25 (All times regional).
LocationPartial eclipse beginsMaximum eclipsePartial eclipse ends% of sun coveredReykjavik, Iceland8:58 a.m. 9:46 a.m. 10:35 a.m. 19% London, United Kingdom10:08 a.m. 10:59 a.m. 11:51 a.m. 15% Cairo, Egypt 12 p.m. 1:09 p.m. 2:16 p.m. 26% Moscow, Russia12:24 p.m. 1:38 p.m. 2:51 p.m. 63% Dubai, United Arab Emirates2:41 p.m. 3:51 p.m. 4:54 p.m. 39% Delhi, India 4:29 p.m. 5:30 p.m. 5:42 p.m. 44%.

Timetable for the partial solar eclipse on April. 30 (All times regional).
LocationPartial eclipse beginsMaximum eclipsePartial eclipse ends% of sun coveredPuerto Williams, Chile4:46 p.m. 5:57 p.m. 6:04 p.m. 52% Santiago, Chile4:33 p.m. 5:36 p.m. 6:03 p.m. 18% Gastre, Chubut, Argentina5:12 p.m. 6:21 p.m. 6:42 p.m. 40%.

To safely observe the sun or see an eclipse, you require special protective eyewear or eclipse glasses. You can discover a concise summary of solar eclipses through to 2030 on NASAs eclipse site. Read more about lunar and solar eclipses on Eclipse Wise– a website dedicated to predictions of eclipses.

There will be no overall solar eclipse in 2022 however there are two overall lunar eclipses, the first happening on May 16, and visible across North and South America, Africa and Western Europe. You can see a total list of the upcoming solar eclipses on NASAs eclipse site, which offers info about solar eclipses, including comprehensive maps of each eclipse course. The first area to see the partial solar eclipse start is at 1.45 p.m. EST (18:45 UTC), the greatest point of total solar eclipse occurs at 3.41 p.m. EST (20:41 UTC) and the last location to see the partial eclipse end is at 5.37 p.m. EST (22:37 UTC) according to Time and Date.Below is a chart with some eclipse viewing times (all local times), including information from Time and Date.

There are 2 partial solar eclipses in 2022. The first partial solar eclipse will occur on Apr. 30 and be noticeable from parts of South America, Antarctica, Pacific and Atlantic Oceans. On Oct. 25, another partial solar eclipse will be visible over Europe, western Asia and northeast Africa. A solar eclipse happens when the brand-new moon, which is otherwise unnoticeable, makes an uncommon appearance by crossing in front of the suns face, slowly creating the look of a “bite” taken from the sun. This continues up until the moon fully or partly blocks the suns disk. For the very first time because 2018, there will be no total or annular solar eclipse this year. The last total solar eclipse occurred on Dec. 4, 2021 and was visible from Antarctica. There will be no overall solar eclipse in 2022 nevertheless there are 2 total lunar eclipses, the very first taking place on May 16, and visible across North and South America, Africa and Western Europe. The second lunar eclipse will happen on Nov. 8 and show up across North and South America, Pacific and east Asia. Related: The only total solar eclipse of 2021 in images: Amazing images from Antarctica Did you know?A solar eclipse always happens about two weeks before or after a lunar eclipse. You can see a total list of the upcoming solar eclipses on NASAs eclipse website, which supplies details about solar eclipses, consisting of comprehensive maps of each eclipse course. Remember to begin making strategies for the next terrific American solar eclipse on April 8, 2024. Partial solar eclipse on Apr. 30The first partial solar eclipse of 2022 will sweep throughout the southeast Pacific and southern South America. (Image credit: NASA) The very first partial solar eclipse of 2022 will sweep throughout the southeast Pacific and southern South America. The very first location to see the partial solar eclipse start is at 1.45 p.m. EST (18:45 UTC), the biggest point of overall solar eclipse takes place at 3.41 p.m. EST (20:41 UTC) and the last location to see the partial eclipse end is at 5.37 p.m. EST (22:37 UTC) according to Time and Date.Below is a chart with some eclipse seeing times (all local times), featuring information from Time and Date.